Moving a user

To move a user to below a new manager or to a new group:

  1. Navigate to the user in the organization tree by clicking “Organization” and searching for the user’s name or email address in the search field.
  2. Click the gear wheel next to the user’s name.
  3. Choose “Move [Name]“.
  4. When prompted, search for the user’s new manager or group and choose the manager/group in the results. If you searched for the manager, pay attention to whether the manager has one or more groups underneath him/her (this will be shown in the search results), and if so, make sure to place the user in the correct group. Only place employees directly under managers who either have no group under them, or if the employee does not belong to any of the existing groups.
  5. Confirm the move.

Who can move a user?

The general principle is that a user can make changes within the team/organization he/she manages. However, all users can suggest changes, in which case a request is sent to the affected user’s manager for approval. In addition, users with extended access rights can edit the organizational tree (without the need for anyone else’s approval) in the part of the organization to which he/she has extended access rights.

Updated on January 8, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related articles